Tag Archives: contemporary

Throwback Thursday: Truth or Date – Book Review

 

Throwback Thursday is a series where we take a look back at some of BRD’s most popular posts. Enjoy!

Book Review of Truth or Date by Portia MacIntosh

 

My Review:

Truth or Date is the first book by Portia that I’ve ever read and it’s definitely not going to be the last.  I’m in love with 90% of all CarinaUK’s book and authors and this was definitely no exception.  I read the book in 2 days and it was so addicting!

Continue reading Throwback Thursday: Truth or Date – Book Review

Advertisements

Editorial Review – Uber Diva

 

Title: Uber Diva

Author: Charles St. Anthony

Genre: Humor

Part-memoir, part-guide, Uber Diva is an entertaining look at what it takes to be an Uber driver. Told from the perspective of the self-proclaimed Uber Diva, who is sidelined from the ridesharing business after a drunk driver totals her car and sends her to the hospital, it is helpful in weighing the risks and benefits of becoming a rideshare driver.

Continue reading Editorial Review – Uber Diva

Book Review – Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda

 

Remember your first crush?

Remember walking down the corridors of your high school and blushing whenever you catch a glimpse of that one cute guy who seems to shine just a little bit brighter than everyone else?

Remember the late night conversations with your friends trying to decipher and construe every conversation and gesture, looking for any hidden meaning or indication that he feels the same way?

Remember your first heartbreak, like when you find out he likes someone else and you comfort yourself with a tub of rocky road ice cream and listen to emo music (Jann Arden in my case)?

Continue reading Book Review – Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda

Editorial Review – Fake News

 

Title: FAKE NEWS: Strange historical facts reimagined in the world of Donald Trump

Author: David Hutter

Genre: Satire

This short book focuses on a variety of real-life historical facts and reimagines them as taking place during the presidency of Donald Trump.

Zany, abrupt, imaginative, and indulgent, the novella depicts Trump as a self-absorbed leader of the free world who still manages to get things done despite his capriciousness and the bickering of his staff.

Continue reading Editorial Review – Fake News

Editorial Review – Orphan

 

Title: Orphan

Author: T. R. Connolly

Genre: Contemporary fiction, murder mystery

 

This short novel tells the story of Chunk DeLuna, an orphan in Brazil who carves out a criminal empire built on drugs, prostitution, gambling, and corruption. Along the way, the novel also shares the struggles of Suzanne and Lupe, the two women who have shared DeLuna’s life, enduring his harsh ideas of love and happiness.

The story is very interpersonal and, at times, quite gruesome as it tells of the people DeLuna has threatened, blackmailed, or forced to do what he wants. Most of the time, the focus is on how DeLuna expands his realm rather than the day-to-day practices, so readers get to experience the business side rather than the operations themselves.

Continue reading Editorial Review – Orphan

Editorial Review – The Caretaker

 

Title: The Caretaker

Author: Carol Schoenig

Genre: Romance

The Caretaker by Carol Schoenig tells the story of Phae as she tries to make her own life after an abusive marriage and many years as a single-parent.  She decides to go to Spain to work as a caretaker for an estate.  There, she meets Finn and the two start a romance.

This book is much more than a simple, straight-forward romance story.  Phae is older than your typical love-interest (aged 64).  Both she and Finn have loved and lost before (he is also a widower).  Their love is complicated by family matters.  Schoenig goes against the old trope of parental interference and instead it is Phae’s children who try to stand between her and Finn.

Continue reading Editorial Review – The Caretaker

This Side of Home – Book Review

 

This Side of Home by Renée Watson

This Side of Home is the story of Maya Younger and her community. New shops have been opening up on their street and people that have been living in homes for years are suddenly having to move because of rising costs.

While Nikki, Maya’s twin sister, embraces the new neighbors and cool shops, Maya isn’t so open to the changes. And with a new principal mouthing on and on about “diversity,” Maya’s having trouble understanding how to handle all the new things in her life. Including new love.

Continue reading This Side of Home – Book Review

What to Say Next – Book Review

 

Title: What to Say Next

Author/s: Julie Buxbaum

Publication Date: July 11, 2017

Publisher: Delacorte Press

Format: Paperback

Number of Pages: 272

 

Synopsis:

From the New York Times bestselling author of Tell Me Three Things comes a charming and poignant story about two struggling teenagers who find an unexpected connection just when they need it most. For fans of Sophie Kinsella, Jennifer Niven, and Rainbow Rowell.

Continue reading What to Say Next – Book Review

Serenity Harbor – Book Review

 

Serenity Harbor by RaeAnne Thayne

Computer-tech millionaire Bowie Callahan is about the last person that schoolteacher Katrina Bailey wants to work for. As far as she can see, he’s arrogant, entitled, and not up to the task of caring for his young half brother, Milo. But Kat is, especially if it brings her closer to her goal of adopting an orphaned little girl.

And as her kindness and patience work wonders with Milo, she realizes there’s more to sexy, wary Bo than she’d ever realized. Bo never imagined he’d be tasked with caring for a sibling he didn’t know existed. Then again, he never pictured himself impulsively kissing vibrant, compassionate Katrina in the moonlight. Now he’s ready to make her dream of family come true … and hoping there’s room in it for him, too …

Continue reading Serenity Harbor – Book Review

Throwback Thursday: Last Breath – Book Review

 

Throwback Thursday is a series where we take a look back at some of BRD’s most popular posts. Enjoy!

Last Breath – Robert Bryndza

 

The Blurb

He’s your perfect date. You’re his next victim.

When the tortured body of a young woman is found in a dumpster, her eyes swollen shut and her clothes soaked with blood, Detective Erika Foster is one of the first at the crime scene. The trouble is, this time, it’s not her case.

While she fights to secure her place on the investigation team, Erika can’t help but get involved and quickly finds a link to the unsolved murder of a woman four months earlier. Dumped in a similar location, both women have identical wounds – a fatal incision to their femoral artery.

Continue reading Throwback Thursday: Last Breath – Book Review