Tag Archives: contemporary

This Side of Home – Book Review

 

This Side of Home by Renée Watson

This Side of Home is the story of Maya Younger and her community. New shops have been opening up on their street and people that have been living in homes for years are suddenly having to move because of rising costs.

While Nikki, Maya’s twin sister, embraces the new neighbors and cool shops, Maya isn’t so open to the changes. And with a new principal mouthing on and on about “diversity,” Maya’s having trouble understanding how to handle all the new things in her life. Including new love.

Continue reading This Side of Home – Book Review

Advertisements

What to Say Next – Book Review

 

Title: What to Say Next

Author/s: Julie Buxbaum

Publication Date: July 11, 2017

Publisher: Delacorte Press

Format: Paperback

Number of Pages: 272

 

Synopsis:

From the New York Times bestselling author of Tell Me Three Things comes a charming and poignant story about two struggling teenagers who find an unexpected connection just when they need it most. For fans of Sophie Kinsella, Jennifer Niven, and Rainbow Rowell.

Continue reading What to Say Next – Book Review

Serenity Harbor – Book Review

 

Serenity Harbor by RaeAnne Thayne

Computer-tech millionaire Bowie Callahan is about the last person that schoolteacher Katrina Bailey wants to work for. As far as she can see, he’s arrogant, entitled, and not up to the task of caring for his young half brother, Milo. But Kat is, especially if it brings her closer to her goal of adopting an orphaned little girl.

And as her kindness and patience work wonders with Milo, she realizes there’s more to sexy, wary Bo than she’d ever realized. Bo never imagined he’d be tasked with caring for a sibling he didn’t know existed. Then again, he never pictured himself impulsively kissing vibrant, compassionate Katrina in the moonlight. Now he’s ready to make her dream of family come true … and hoping there’s room in it for him, too …

Continue reading Serenity Harbor – Book Review

Throwback Thursday: Last Breath – Book Review

 

Throwback Thursday is a series where we take a look back at some of BRD’s most popular posts. Enjoy!

Last Breath – Robert Bryndza

 

The Blurb

He’s your perfect date. You’re his next victim.

When the tortured body of a young woman is found in a dumpster, her eyes swollen shut and her clothes soaked with blood, Detective Erika Foster is one of the first at the crime scene. The trouble is, this time, it’s not her case.

While she fights to secure her place on the investigation team, Erika can’t help but get involved and quickly finds a link to the unsolved murder of a woman four months earlier. Dumped in a similar location, both women have identical wounds – a fatal incision to their femoral artery.

Continue reading Throwback Thursday: Last Breath – Book Review

Mannheim Rex – Book Review

 

Mannheim Rex by Robert Pobi

I was lucky enough to spend my childhood summers next to a lake; I swam in it, lay beside it, snorkeled around it, boated over top of it, and even constructed my own little wading pool on the shores of it. But when I would dive down deep to get a better look at something, I always got a little creeped out as I stared into the murky water where the shore dropped off.

I definitely read too many books back then so my imagination always ran wild with the possibilities of what could be staring back at me. Robert Pobi’s book Mannheim Rex explores just that-the story of a medieval, horrifically large creature that is terrorizing a small town lake and its inhabitants.

Continue reading Mannheim Rex – Book Review

Executive Actions – Book Review

 

Executive Actions by Gary Grossman

In the midst of a heated presidential campaign, Secret Service Agent Scott Roarke gets an assignment that turns his world upside down. His investigation uncovers a plot so monstrous it can change the course of America’s future and world politics. Roarke discovers that presidency is about to fall into the hands of a hostile foreign power.

The power play is so well-conceived that even the U.S. Constitution itself is a tool designed to guarantee the plot’s success. With the election clock ticking, Roarke and Boston attorney Katie Kessler race at breakneck speed to prevent the unthinkable. But they also know that it will take a miracle to stop the takeover from happening.

Continue reading Executive Actions – Book Review

Throwback Thursday: Knife of Dreams – Book Review

 

Throwback Thursday is a series where we take a look back at some of BRD’s most popular posts. Enjoy!

A quick warning–this post will contain some spoilers from the series, for any fans who are still reading the series and don’t want it to be ruined.

Book eleven of The Wheel of Time series, Knife of Dreams, came along like a breath of fresh air after reading Crossroads of Twilight.

The tenth novel seemed to take me an age to read; it was long-winded, dull, and not all that interesting to me or to other readers, if Amazon reviews are anything to go by. Knife of Dreams, on the other hand, was an entirely different matter. I read it in just under two weeks, making it the quickest read Wheel of Time book to date, for me. I just couldn’t put this one down; I read it any chance I got.

Continue reading Throwback Thursday: Knife of Dreams – Book Review

One Last First Date – Book Review

 

Title: One Last First Date
Series: Cozy Cottage Cafe Series
Author: Kate O’Keeffe
Release Date: June 1st, 2017
Tour Dates: June 11th – 16th, 2017
Genre: Chick Lit

 

Book Blurb

Cassie Dunhill is sick of dating. It’s been ten years and it’s time, time to find The One. It’s either that or buy a fetching habit and veil and abandon the whole thing. But Cassie believes in love, and she’s not ready to give up yet.

Continue reading One Last First Date – Book Review

Movie Game – Book Review

 

With a distinct Ferris Bueller feel for circumstantially created chaos, Michael Ebner’s main character is one of the most likeable teenagers I’ve ever met. He’s arrogant, pretentious as hell and a thoroughly bad role-model, and he is utterly compelling, hilarious and intriguing to watch.

Joe killed the flame and took the stairs. On the quiet street, cigarette in his mouth, he lit up, took one drag then gave it to gravity. Joe wasn’t a serious smoker; he just liked the motions: the theatrics of blazing up after suburban shakedowns. It was part of his crusade on movie talkers.

Continue reading Movie Game – Book Review

The Graces – Book Review

the graces

 

Title: The Graces

Author: Laure Eve

Published: September 6th 2016 by Amulet Books

Genre: YA, Fantasy, Paranormal

My Rating: 4/ 5 stars

“Everyone said they were witches. I desperately wanted to believe it. I’d only been at this school a couple of months, but I saw how it was. They moved through the corridors like sleek fish, ripples in their wake, stares following their backs and their hair.”

Like everyone else in her town, River is obsessed with the Graces, attracted by their glamour and apparent ability to weave magic. But are they really what they seem? And are they more dangerous than they let on?

Continue reading The Graces – Book Review