Tag Archives: literature

Throwback Thursday: The Pledge – Book Review

 

Throwback Thursday is a series where we take a look back at some of BRD’s most popular posts. Enjoy!

The Pledge by Kimberly Derting    5/5*****

Seventeen-year-old Charlaina  is from Ludania, a country ruled by a cruel queen. The country is divided into a class system and every class has its own language. No lower-class citizens of Ludania can speak or even understand the language of the upper-class. Even to look upon an upper-class citizen while they speak their language is punishable by death, as is understanding a language not meant for you.

Continue reading Throwback Thursday: The Pledge – Book Review

Advertisements

Drake and the Fliers – Book Review

 

I had the opportunity to read Drake and the Fliers without knowing anything about it, and that was the surprise, the real treat. The Fourth Descendant author Allison Maruska’s fearless rendering of a post-apocalyptic fantasy about a teenage boy braving a strange new world is original and compelling. Maruska trims the fat in this raw urban fantasy, giving virtually no backstory, and it works. She drops you smack dab in the middle of this dystopian world and you’re never able to guess the direction the story will go, which is as it should be. The descriptions and imagery paste you on the page. As you fly with Drake you can see, “The ghost of the city came into view. The bridges stood empty, though the Golden Gate’s towers poked out of the fog blanketing the bay.”

Continue reading Drake and the Fliers – Book Review

What to Say Next – Book Review

 

Title: What to Say Next

Author/s: Julie Buxbaum

Publication Date: July 11, 2017

Publisher: Delacorte Press

Format: Paperback

Number of Pages: 272

 

Synopsis:

From the New York Times bestselling author of Tell Me Three Things comes a charming and poignant story about two struggling teenagers who find an unexpected connection just when they need it most. For fans of Sophie Kinsella, Jennifer Niven, and Rainbow Rowell.

Continue reading What to Say Next – Book Review

Serenity Harbor – Book Review

 

Serenity Harbor by RaeAnne Thayne

Computer-tech millionaire Bowie Callahan is about the last person that schoolteacher Katrina Bailey wants to work for. As far as she can see, he’s arrogant, entitled, and not up to the task of caring for his young half brother, Milo. But Kat is, especially if it brings her closer to her goal of adopting an orphaned little girl.

And as her kindness and patience work wonders with Milo, she realizes there’s more to sexy, wary Bo than she’d ever realized. Bo never imagined he’d be tasked with caring for a sibling he didn’t know existed. Then again, he never pictured himself impulsively kissing vibrant, compassionate Katrina in the moonlight. Now he’s ready to make her dream of family come true … and hoping there’s room in it for him, too …

Continue reading Serenity Harbor – Book Review

Penny White and the Temptation of Dragons – Book Review

 

Note: We were given a free copy of the book in exchange for an honest review, which reads as follows.

Details:

Title: Penny White and the Temptations of Dragons

Author: Chrys Cymri

Publisher: CreateSpace

Release Date: March 31st, 2016

Genre: Fantasy, Christian

Pages: 230

 

Synopsis:

Bishop Nigel smiled at me. ‘Holy water doesn’t harm vampires. Which is just as well, as it would make it impossible to baptise them.’

Continue reading Penny White and the Temptation of Dragons – Book Review

Throwback Thursday: Last Breath – Book Review

 

Throwback Thursday is a series where we take a look back at some of BRD’s most popular posts. Enjoy!

Last Breath – Robert Bryndza

 

The Blurb

He’s your perfect date. You’re his next victim.

When the tortured body of a young woman is found in a dumpster, her eyes swollen shut and her clothes soaked with blood, Detective Erika Foster is one of the first at the crime scene. The trouble is, this time, it’s not her case.

While she fights to secure her place on the investigation team, Erika can’t help but get involved and quickly finds a link to the unsolved murder of a woman four months earlier. Dumped in a similar location, both women have identical wounds – a fatal incision to their femoral artery.

Continue reading Throwback Thursday: Last Breath – Book Review

A Distant Melody – Book Review

 

A few months ago I posted a review of A Memory Between Us, the second book in the Wings of Glory series by Sarah Sundin. It is with amazement that I now look back and realize that I never posted a review for the first book of the series, A Distant Melody. Sundin has recently become one of my absolute favorite authors, and this was the book that started it all; it was both her first novel and the first of her books that I read.

I picked this book up on a whim at the library, and it was one of the best choices I have made regarding a book!  The story is sweet, the characters are inviting, the setting is well crafted; it all adds up to a wonderful book. Sundin does a thorough job on every part of this, from the historical research to the development of the characters. I’m almost at a loss for words to describe how good this book truly is.

Continue reading A Distant Melody – Book Review