Tag Archives: book reviews

This Side of Home – Book Review

 

This Side of Home by Renée Watson

This Side of Home is the story of Maya Younger and her community. New shops have been opening up on their street and people that have been living in homes for years are suddenly having to move because of rising costs.

While Nikki, Maya’s twin sister, embraces the new neighbors and cool shops, Maya isn’t so open to the changes. And with a new principal mouthing on and on about “diversity,” Maya’s having trouble understanding how to handle all the new things in her life. Including new love.

Continue reading This Side of Home – Book Review

Advertisements

Bargain Book of the Week – Regency Fire

regency fire

 

This series highlights inexpensive, free, or discounted books to give you, dear reader, the most options on what to read.

Free, reduced from $0.99

Upon the death of his father, Gabriel Farrington finds himself suddenly the new Duke of Calgarth. And filling his father’s shoes will be no simple task. The family has been at war with Cornelius Cunningham, the Duke of Horndean, for three decades, and it was the old Duke’s dying wish that Gabriel continue the feud with ever more enthusiasm. Still, Gabriel has four brothers to help keep the flag of the Duchy of Calgarth flying high, and he expects each and every one of them to take his part.

Continue reading Bargain Book of the Week – Regency Fire

Underland – Book Review

underland

 

Underland by Josh Brannan

One of the things I loved most about this series was the style of narration. By now, anyone who has read a review by me should know this is a very whimsical and quirky series. It has a distinct feel of a story dancing the lines of fairytale and fantasy. I can truly describe this as a silly, one-of-a-kind series but it most certainly has a serious edge. From dragons, to romance, to action, and more—this series has plenty to offer in entertainment for every reader.

Continue reading Underland – Book Review

Soulmates – Book Review

soulmates

 

Soulmates by Jessica Grose

“For anyone who has ever suspected something sinister lurking behind the craze of new-age spirituality, Jessica Grose has crafted just the tale for you. With the delicious bite of satire and the page-turning satisfaction of a thriller, Soulmates is a deeply compelling, funny and sharply observed look at just how far we will go to achieve inner peace.”—Lena Dunham

Continue reading Soulmates – Book Review

Throwback Thursday: The Pledge – Book Review

 

Throwback Thursday is a series where we take a look back at some of BRD’s most popular posts. Enjoy!

The Pledge by Kimberly Derting    5/5*****

Seventeen-year-old Charlaina  is from Ludania, a country ruled by a cruel queen. The country is divided into a class system and every class has its own language. No lower-class citizens of Ludania can speak or even understand the language of the upper-class. Even to look upon an upper-class citizen while they speak their language is punishable by death, as is understanding a language not meant for you.

Continue reading Throwback Thursday: The Pledge – Book Review

Drake and the Fliers – Book Review

 

I had the opportunity to read Drake and the Fliers without knowing anything about it, and that was the surprise, the real treat. The Fourth Descendant author Allison Maruska’s fearless rendering of a post-apocalyptic fantasy about a teenage boy braving a strange new world is original and compelling. Maruska trims the fat in this raw urban fantasy, giving virtually no backstory, and it works. She drops you smack dab in the middle of this dystopian world and you’re never able to guess the direction the story will go, which is as it should be. The descriptions and imagery paste you on the page. As you fly with Drake you can see, “The ghost of the city came into view. The bridges stood empty, though the Golden Gate’s towers poked out of the fog blanketing the bay.”

Continue reading Drake and the Fliers – Book Review

Bargain Book of the Week – An Outlaw’s Vengeance

an outlaws vengeance

 

This series highlights inexpensive, free, or discounted books to give you, dear reader, the most options on what to read.

Free, reduced from $0.99

Territory of Colorado, 1871 Annalee Harper is a woman running from her past, her future, her everything. Hoping to start fresh in a booming gold rush town, she leaves Philadelphia and heads west. Little does she know, her plan at a fresh start will be violently interrupted, and she’ll be forced to choose between the new life she was seeking out, or the even greater adventure that comes her way.

Continue reading Bargain Book of the Week – An Outlaw’s Vengeance

The Summer of Impossible Things – Book Review

summer of impossible things

 

The Summer of Impossible Things by Rowan Coleman

Thirty years ago, something terrible happened to Luna’s mother. Something she’s only prepared to reveal after her death.

Now Luna and her sister have a chance to go back to their mother’s birthplace and settle her affairs. But in Brooklyn they find more questions than answers, until something impossible – magical – happens to Luna, and she meets her mother as a young woman back in the summer of 1977.

Continue reading The Summer of Impossible Things – Book Review

What to Say Next – Book Review

 

Title: What to Say Next

Author/s: Julie Buxbaum

Publication Date: July 11, 2017

Publisher: Delacorte Press

Format: Paperback

Number of Pages: 272

 

Synopsis:

From the New York Times bestselling author of Tell Me Three Things comes a charming and poignant story about two struggling teenagers who find an unexpected connection just when they need it most. For fans of Sophie Kinsella, Jennifer Niven, and Rainbow Rowell.

Continue reading What to Say Next – Book Review