Tag Archives: book review

Underland – Book Review

underland

 

Underland by Josh Brannan

One of the things I loved most about this series was the style of narration. By now, anyone who has read a review by me should know this is a very whimsical and quirky series. It has a distinct feel of a story dancing the lines of fairytale and fantasy. I can truly describe this as a silly, one-of-a-kind series but it most certainly has a serious edge. From dragons, to romance, to action, and more—this series has plenty to offer in entertainment for every reader.

Continue reading Underland – Book Review

Advertisements

Soulmates – Book Review

soulmates

 

Soulmates by Jessica Grose

“For anyone who has ever suspected something sinister lurking behind the craze of new-age spirituality, Jessica Grose has crafted just the tale for you. With the delicious bite of satire and the page-turning satisfaction of a thriller, Soulmates is a deeply compelling, funny and sharply observed look at just how far we will go to achieve inner peace.”—Lena Dunham

Continue reading Soulmates – Book Review

Bargain Book of the Week – An Outlaw’s Vengeance

an outlaws vengeance

 

This series highlights inexpensive, free, or discounted books to give you, dear reader, the most options on what to read.

Free, reduced from $0.99

Territory of Colorado, 1871 Annalee Harper is a woman running from her past, her future, her everything. Hoping to start fresh in a booming gold rush town, she leaves Philadelphia and heads west. Little does she know, her plan at a fresh start will be violently interrupted, and she’ll be forced to choose between the new life she was seeking out, or the even greater adventure that comes her way.

Continue reading Bargain Book of the Week – An Outlaw’s Vengeance

The Summer of Impossible Things – Book Review

summer of impossible things

 

The Summer of Impossible Things by Rowan Coleman

Thirty years ago, something terrible happened to Luna’s mother. Something she’s only prepared to reveal after her death.

Now Luna and her sister have a chance to go back to their mother’s birthplace and settle her affairs. But in Brooklyn they find more questions than answers, until something impossible – magical – happens to Luna, and she meets her mother as a young woman back in the summer of 1977.

Continue reading The Summer of Impossible Things – Book Review

What to Say Next – Book Review

 

Title: What to Say Next

Author/s: Julie Buxbaum

Publication Date: July 11, 2017

Publisher: Delacorte Press

Format: Paperback

Number of Pages: 272

 

Synopsis:

From the New York Times bestselling author of Tell Me Three Things comes a charming and poignant story about two struggling teenagers who find an unexpected connection just when they need it most. For fans of Sophie Kinsella, Jennifer Niven, and Rainbow Rowell.

Continue reading What to Say Next – Book Review

Bargain Book of the Week – The Poison in All of Us

poison in all of us

 

This series highlights inexpensive, free, or discounted books to give you, dear reader, the most options on what to read.

Free, reduced from $0.99

Winter breaks are supposed to be exciting, but this one is murder.

A novella of suffragists and secrets.

Continue reading Bargain Book of the Week – The Poison in All of Us

H20 – Book Review

 

H20 by Virginia Bergin

Remember the game we all played as children called “Hot Lava” where you jumped from couch to table to desk to avoid touching the ground aka “the lava”. Sometimes you even got creative and took the couch cushions and pillows with you to get farther through the house. Well, that is this book, except if you touch it, you will die.

Continue reading H20 – Book Review

Bargain Book of the Week – Ransom X

ransom x

 

This series highlights inexpensive, free, or discounted books to give you, dear reader, the most options on what to read.

Free, reduced from $4.99

Martin Legace is a former special ops standout, once recognized as the top field interrogator in the American military complex. His study of the human mind was carried out in make-shift tents on the edge of the battlefield; he didn’t write or read the book on how to break a prisoner, he simply followed his instincts, dissecting human behavior in a way that verges on autism. He had a reputation for getting anything out of anyone – “had” being the operative word.

Continue reading Bargain Book of the Week – Ransom X

A Witching Flavor: Sweetland Witch Series – Book Review

the witching flavor

 

Title: A Witching Flavor: Sweetland Witch Series
Author: Zoe Arden
Publisher: ReedFoster Press House

On Heavenly Haven Island there are two factions, Mistmoor Point and Sweetland Cove, both are home to witches, vampires, and goblins. There are strange happenings on the island; witches are going missing.

Ava Fortune gets involved when one of those witches her best friend, Lucy Lockwood goes missing at the Snow Queen dance. When missing turns to murder Ava can’t stay on the sidelines.

Continue reading A Witching Flavor: Sweetland Witch Series – Book Review

The Graces – Book Review

the graces

 

Title: The Graces

Author: Laure Eve

Published: September 6th 2016 by Amulet Books

Genre: YA, Fantasy, Paranormal

My Rating: 4/ 5 stars

“Everyone said they were witches. I desperately wanted to believe it. I’d only been at this school a couple of months, but I saw how it was. They moved through the corridors like sleek fish, ripples in their wake, stares following their backs and their hair.”

Like everyone else in her town, River is obsessed with the Graces, attracted by their glamour and apparent ability to weave magic. But are they really what they seem? And are they more dangerous than they let on?

Continue reading The Graces – Book Review