Category Archives: Contemporary Reviews

Throwback Thursday: Truth or Date – Book Review

 

Throwback Thursday is a series where we take a look back at some of BRD’s most popular posts. Enjoy!

Book Review of Truth or Date by Portia MacIntosh

 

My Review:

Truth or Date is the first book by Portia that I’ve ever read and it’s definitely not going to be the last.  I’m in love with 90% of all CarinaUK’s book and authors and this was definitely no exception.  I read the book in 2 days and it was so addicting!

Continue reading Throwback Thursday: Truth or Date – Book Review

Advertisements

Young Jane Young – Book Review

 

Its a narrative as old as time.

Young, naive woman meets succesful, prominent and married older man and is mesmerised by his charismatic persona that she decides to pursue him. They inevitably get caught and get caught up in a scandal. He asks for forgiveness from the public and his wife.

The wife has to put her game face on and forgive him; she stands by him and his career and puts the mantle of ‘wronged but strong woman on’ and she gets lauded for this behaviour. Its the ONLY thing that gets her through the days when she wants to scream and shout from rage at the shame and humiliation of it all. 

Continue reading Young Jane Young – Book Review

Book Review: Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine

 

How to describe Eleanor Oliphant in a five hundred words or less?
She’s 29 years old and thinks telling people she works in an office is the fastest way to get them to stop asking questions about what she does.

She can go days without ever talking to another living soul. And no, her potted plant – for all its photosynthetic capabilities – does not count.

Continue reading Book Review: Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine

Queen of Katwe – Book Review

Image result for queen of katwe book

 

As a non-fiction book set in Uganda, Queen of Katwe is a novel I would never normally have picked up. However, something in the story called to me and, having read the entire book in a matter of hours, I don’t regret that decision in the slightest.

Queen of Katwe details the life and experiences of Phiona Mutesi, the young, female, Ugandan chess player from the poorest of the slums who somehow managed to learn chess and become the best player in the country, despite having virtually no resources, or even enough food to eat.

Continue reading Queen of Katwe – Book Review

Editorial Review – Orphan

 

Title: Orphan

Author: T. R. Connolly

Genre: Contemporary fiction, murder mystery

 

This short novel tells the story of Chunk DeLuna, an orphan in Brazil who carves out a criminal empire built on drugs, prostitution, gambling, and corruption. Along the way, the novel also shares the struggles of Suzanne and Lupe, the two women who have shared DeLuna’s life, enduring his harsh ideas of love and happiness.

The story is very interpersonal and, at times, quite gruesome as it tells of the people DeLuna has threatened, blackmailed, or forced to do what he wants. Most of the time, the focus is on how DeLuna expands his realm rather than the day-to-day practices, so readers get to experience the business side rather than the operations themselves.

Continue reading Editorial Review – Orphan

Throwback Thursday – Bury the Living

 

Throwback Thursday is a series where we take a look back at some of BRD’s most popular posts. Enjoy!

Bury The Living by Jodi McIsaac

Published September 6th 2016 by 47North

285 Pages

Summary: Rebellion has always been in the O’Reilly family’s blood. So when faced with the tragic death of her brother during Northern Ireland’s infamous Troubles, a teenage Nora joined the IRA to fight for her country’s freedom. Now, more than a decade later, Nora is haunted by both her past and vivid dreams of a man she has never met.

Continue reading Throwback Thursday – Bury the Living

This Side of Home – Book Review

 

This Side of Home by Renée Watson

This Side of Home is the story of Maya Younger and her community. New shops have been opening up on their street and people that have been living in homes for years are suddenly having to move because of rising costs.

While Nikki, Maya’s twin sister, embraces the new neighbors and cool shops, Maya isn’t so open to the changes. And with a new principal mouthing on and on about “diversity,” Maya’s having trouble understanding how to handle all the new things in her life. Including new love.

Continue reading This Side of Home – Book Review

What to Say Next – Book Review

 

Title: What to Say Next

Author/s: Julie Buxbaum

Publication Date: July 11, 2017

Publisher: Delacorte Press

Format: Paperback

Number of Pages: 272

 

Synopsis:

From the New York Times bestselling author of Tell Me Three Things comes a charming and poignant story about two struggling teenagers who find an unexpected connection just when they need it most. For fans of Sophie Kinsella, Jennifer Niven, and Rainbow Rowell.

Continue reading What to Say Next – Book Review

Serenity Harbor – Book Review

 

Serenity Harbor by RaeAnne Thayne

Computer-tech millionaire Bowie Callahan is about the last person that schoolteacher Katrina Bailey wants to work for. As far as she can see, he’s arrogant, entitled, and not up to the task of caring for his young half brother, Milo. But Kat is, especially if it brings her closer to her goal of adopting an orphaned little girl.

And as her kindness and patience work wonders with Milo, she realizes there’s more to sexy, wary Bo than she’d ever realized. Bo never imagined he’d be tasked with caring for a sibling he didn’t know existed. Then again, he never pictured himself impulsively kissing vibrant, compassionate Katrina in the moonlight. Now he’s ready to make her dream of family come true … and hoping there’s room in it for him, too …

Continue reading Serenity Harbor – Book Review