Our Demons, Best Friends – Book Review

Our Demons, Best Friends

 

Title: Our Demons, Best Friends

Author/s: Diana T. Scott

Publication Date: May 100, 2015

Publisher: Diana T. Scott

Format: Paperback

Number of Pages: 326


Synopsis:

“Ava and Sebastian are two medical residents who in a perfect world, would really like each other. But both of them are closely watched by their demons. Their baggage is not light – Ava has hers carefully folded in vacuum bags to occupy as little room as possible; Sebastian wears his like a lead armor that makes him slouch sometimes. They like each other, but how are their demons going to get along?”

 

My Thoughts:

First things first, the cover is stunning, and the blurb’s truly promising. Thus, I expected a lot.

OUR DEMONS, BEST FRIENDS is a simple book that contains deep messages. There were too many insights. Sensitive issues were tackled that even after several hours of reading it, of closing the book, I cannot stop thinking about it.

It was fast-paced. Seems like the author squeezed the story at 308 pages, where in fact, it could be prolonged.

The writing is forthright and pleasing enough, Ms. Scott could do better. The writing style used in this book was plain-vanilla.

The story line is not unique, neither cliché. Scott made it different in terms of the complexity of her characters and the situations they’re in. She managed to make it too addictive for her readers mainly because all emotions were poured and it was overflowing.

Like most girls I know, Ava is one who’s charming, bubbly, humorous, and sweet outside. Hiding- are her demons. No one will even suspect that they exist within her. Like Sebastian, she has her dark, broken parts. Unlike Ava, Sebastian is actually not a good person when it comes to interacting with people. He has this cold demeanor which some might hate. Underneath those, are pain and struggles from his past. As their souls being united, they grew in, developed, and became better persons.

Though I liked the main characters, there are issues; like Ava who tends to always mention things that has already happened. Full of hindsights. And most of it are irrelevant.

Whilst the book screams pure drama, I liked how Scott maneuvered humor and entertainment in this supposed to be too-heart-wrenching-story.

Still, the story of this book is perfect for fans of Cynthia Hand, Tabitha Suzuma, and Jay Asher.

You can find Our Demons, Best Friends here.

 

 

Guest review contributed by Amidst the PagesImogene reviews almost any genre from both indie and traditionally published authors.


A Valentine to RememberA Valentine to Remember

A special Valentine boxed set from three much-loved authors. Historical Romance authors Sue London and Sandy Raven, known for their adventurous heroines and brave heroes, team up with Gail Dayton, best-known for her steampunk and historical fantasy stories, for a sexy and heart-warming historical romance collection!

To My Valentine, by Gail Dayton – Lady Lydia Daventry betrayed Captain Alexander Ferguson by marrying another. Then she followed her military husband—and Captain Ferguson—to Spain, compounding his sense of betrayal. Now the husband is dead and the army at the end of a desperate retreat to the coast and ships back to England. Alex finds her trying to herd her little party of women and wounded soldiers to safety and escorts them the last few miles. Can they find their way back to each other?

Jack Valentine, Sue London – Artie Graham thought upholding the tradition of Jack Valentine was a sweet way to show his love of Norfolk. What he didn’t expect was to find a woman even more enthusiastic about it… and him.

The Valentine Gift, Sandy Raven – Believing they were unable to give each other the child they wanted so desperately, forces one couple to consider other options. They are then blessed many times over!


 

 

 

 

 

 

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “Our Demons, Best Friends – Book Review”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s